This ticker provides construction alerts that impact the GCC community related to any project on any campus: There are currently no construction alerts at this time.

Project Events

New Science Building Topping Off Ceremony

On April 27, 2022, the Glendale Community College District welcomed our esteemed Board of Trustees, City of Glendale officials as well as the architect, construction management, and project management teams to partake in the Topping Off ceremony for the forthcoming New Science Building.

This traditional and historical event featured the placement of the final beam to complete the structural base for the New Science Building.

The ceremony was hosted by Fred Parker, Interim Director of Facilities, followed by a luncheon catered by the GCC Culinary Arts Department, famous eatery Tommy’s Burgers, and dessert from Glendale local favorite Village French Bakery. During the luncheon, we celebrated and recognized the following individuals of the project team for their dedication and zeal in contributing to the project milestones:

Dr. David Viar, Superintendent & President – Glendale Community College

Patrick Shahnazarian, Facilities Maintenance & Operations Manager – Glendale Community College

Silva Sorkazian, Facilities Project Manager – Glendale Community College

John Leopardi, Senior Project Manager – Gafcon, Inc.

Miguel Simental, Project Architect  – HMC Architects

Jeff Trueman, Construction Manager – DPR Construction

Eddie Hermann, Field Superintendent – DPR Construction

Ted Lamoureux, Project Inspector – TYR, Inc.

Sascha Rodgers, Steel Trade Superintendent – Danny’s Construction Company, Inc.

We would like to thank our Glendale Community College District Board of Trustees, College Executives, and Division Chairs: Board President Dr. Armine Hacopian, Board Vice-President Ann Ransford, Board Clerk Sevan Benlian, Member Desireé Portillo Rabinov, Member Yvette Vartanian Davis, Student Trustee Diana Morales, President and Superintendent Dr. David Viar, Executive Vice-President of Administrative Services Dr. Anthony Culpepper, Vice-President of Instructional Services Dr. Michael Ritterbrown, Chemistry & Physical Science Division Chair Dr. Sevada Chamras, and Biology Division Chair Dr. Joseph Beeman for their commitment, support, and vision for an ever growing and changing campus.

With new infrastructure projects, the District will continue its longstanding mission and legacy of achieving excellence and fostering a premier learning environment for the benefit of our students, faculty, staff, and community.